PDA

View Full Version : Set-up related Question



AABatteries
02-07-2008, 02:20 PM
When you are setting up an aquarium with live plants do you let the tank cycle or do you put them in there while it cycles.

sailor
02-07-2008, 02:23 PM
Put the live plants in from the start they help speed up the cycle.

Tooch
02-07-2008, 02:35 PM
Yup Yup. Stick 'em in there right off the bat

jbeining75
02-07-2008, 02:52 PM
plants will help the cycle throw em in.....

cocoa_pleco
02-07-2008, 02:57 PM
plants dont help the cycle, they just take in the ammonia so you can get fish right away, plants dont speed up the cycle itself

jbeining75
02-07-2008, 02:59 PM
ammomia low with no harse spike = help

jbeining75
02-07-2008, 03:00 PM
haha cocoa posted before I got back to edit it. oh well.....

Incredulous_Ed
02-07-2008, 08:24 PM
The plans will take care of the ammonia, if the tank is heavily p[lanted.

AABatteries
02-07-2008, 08:46 PM
My family has never tested water that I know of. We just stuck our fish in after it cycled and all but a few have lived. But I'm thinking about getting a test kit.