PDA

View Full Version : OK to keep discus and other tropical fish in same tank?

supun
02-05-2008, 11:48 PM
Hi guys,

This is continuance with my previous thread, where one of my 6" discus was attacked...
I am a tropical fish beginner, and I would like info from Fish experts about keeping discus, angels and other fish in the same 125 gall tank.
Now, I am getting different feedback..some say keep all discus in a separate tank. What is your say?

CAN PEOPLE WHO CURRENTLY HAVE 3 OR MORE DISCUS, ANGELS (3 OR MORE) AND OTHER SPECIEIS IN THE SAME TANK PLEASE TELL ME IF YOU HAVE BEEN SUCCESSFUL OR FAILURE IN THIS CASE?

Thanks for your help,
Supun

Fishguy2727
02-06-2008, 03:20 AM
It is definitely possible. My 4 discus are in with platies, a gold nugget pleco, and a Synodontis petricola. Two discus just paired off and have now laid at least two batches of eggs (which as usual with discus they ate). There are many options with species including: angels, many types of tetras, many types of corydoras, some species of plecos, rams, many loaches, etc. Many people seem to make out discus as living in this uniquely warm, acidic water intolerable by any other fish. They are from Amazonia, home to MANY fish and plants and there are lots of options for tankmates.

jbeining75
02-06-2008, 04:35 AM
I'd say its feasable... you had the gouramis in and the angel got attacked or vice versa right???

cocoa_pleco
02-06-2008, 04:37 AM
its definitely possible, ive seen discus with corys, cardinal/neon tetras, angels, african knife fish, etc

SpyderSpy6
02-06-2008, 01:48 PM
Keeping discus in a community tank can be very tricky. I ran in to some of the common problems and questions you are having too. I began with a tropical community tank and once I was able to do discus I was ready to put them in my tank! The problems I ran in to were my angelfish!