PDA

View Full Version : sex angelfish?

plow
02-05-2008, 09:23 PM
Can someone sex my angles?

I have two angels, and I would like to know if they are two males/two females or one of each..

Im trying to get a breeding pair, of wild type. I have no experience and have no idea what I would do with any fry even if I managed to get the little wrigglers to survive a month or so, but who cares, I want a breeding pair..

My problem is I can't sex them, and I dont know what to look for..

here is a photo of my current two. I think I know what they are but would like to hear form any experts out there.. or if anyone knows of any experts out there that are good at sexing angles could you please forward this post on to them as I would love to have someone confirm it for me.

These guys are about 6 months old... they are not adults as experienced people would see. They also have fantastic markings, vivid silver and grey/black stripes that do not show in this photo since when they come to the front of the tank their colourings pretty much disappear, its something to do with the lighting.

anyway, all comments welcome.

Tolley
02-05-2008, 09:31 PM
Mitcore would probably know as she breeds them, but shes absent atm.. Someone will help though.

BTW those are real nice angels!

Dave66
02-05-2008, 09:44 PM
The one in the front is a male. He's slightly smaller bodied and has darker markings than the female. Its easy to pick out even at that age as I've kept and bred dozens of angel fish over the years.

Dave

Fishalicious
02-05-2008, 09:47 PM
Woot Dave... sexing Angels is one thing I still cannot get down... I have made a few mistakes over the years. I had one with a huuuge hump on the forehead - male I thought - laid eggs 3 months later ... hmmmmm

Gonna grab my camera see if you can sex mine LOL :ezpi_wink1: :ezpi_wink1:

NickFish
02-05-2008, 09:58 PM
WOW really nice angels! POTM?

Tolley
02-05-2008, 10:01 PM
lol jus re-read the title of this thread. haha

supun