PDA

View Full Version : Uh, some questions about breeding

Fishy-Suzy
02-03-2008, 09:00 PM
I'm a beginner! I need to ask questions!
FYI: my tank is 10 gallons

How do I sex my Dalmation Molly and my Balloon Belly Molly? I'd love to see the colour variants of the fry. The thing is, I don't know how to tell the genders apart and I don't know the mating habits. The Dalmation Molly will chase the smaller Balloon Molly around a bit, but I think it might just be them playing.

The first guppy I bought was pregnant and gave birth the night I got her. First it was 7 fry, then 3 got eaten. The surviving guppies are a little over a month old and someone did it. Now I'm a grandma. I had an original school of fry at 20 babies. One of them died naturally the day after he/she/it was born and 2 were eaten. Most of them have homes when they're old enough. How do I get them to stop!?

Dave66
02-03-2008, 09:14 PM
I'm a beginner! I need to ask questions!
FYI: my tank is 10 gallons

How do I sex my Dalmation Molly and my Balloon Belly Molly? I'd love to see the colour variants of the fry. The thing is, I don't know how to tell the genders apart and I don't know the mating habits. The Dalmation Molly will chase the smaller Balloon Molly around a bit, but I think it might just be them playing.

The first guppy I bought was pregnant and gave birth the night I got her. First it was 7 fry, then 3 got eaten. The surviving guppies are a little over a month old and someone did it. Now I'm a grandma. I had an original school of fry at 20 babies. One of them died naturally the day after he/she/it was born and 2 were eaten. Most of them have homes when they're old enough. How do I get them to stop!?

First, you can't stop livebearers from breeding; they do it all the time and the females are ALWAYS pregnant. A female can store the male's milt, and can give birth for months, even if you remove the males.