PDA

View Full Version : Small tank building questions

Kosch
02-01-2008, 10:06 PM
Hello,

I've always been interested in building my own tank (I'm also a ham radio operator, I love homebrewing whatever I can!). So I'm looking at building a small tank to replace my 5 gallon. It will likely end up being 7-10 gallons, haven't quite decided the size yet.

First off let me say, I know that a 10-20 could be bought cheaper, this is purely because I want something custom and DIY. I'll be sticking to common sizes (12 or 16) to accommodate lighting. I'll be buying the hinge material to make the glass top.

My first question was, what do people usually use to create the lip around the top? I was thinking 1/4" thick x 1/2" wide glass strips could be siliconed in place all around the edge, but I'm not sure how strong that would be.

Then, a similar question, what about the bottom? I can't seem to find any good tank building sites that discuss smaller tanks, and so I'm not sure what to use there. Maybe just some wood moulding (right angle, going underneath to keep the glass from resting directly on the stand)?

And as far as I can tell, the bottom will sit above the stand, between all the sides, not under them. Is this correct?

I also called a few glass places, and it seems they all carry 1/8" and 1/4", but all the tanks I've seen measured at 5mm (just under 1/4"). I know 1/4" may be overkill for a small tank, but I figured why not, and it may be a bit easier to work with (squaring edges, etc). Any thoughts here?

Sorry for the long post. Got a little carried away!

Thanks in advance!

Bryan

Lady Hobbs
02-01-2008, 11:26 PM
Tank frames. I think they can be purchased online.

Maybe you could weld a top and bottom frame in the size you wanted. Stainless maybe or something that won't rust.

RichBowyer
02-02-2008, 02:08 AM
And as far as I can tell, the bottom will sit above the stand, between all the sides, not under them. Is this correct?