PDA

View Full Version : tank cycling question

Glasstapper
09-09-2006, 02:09 AM
Day 4 - Is this about the time I'll start to see my ammonia spike? I've been feeding what the eight 1" tetras can eat in about three minutes twice a day.

Here's my stats as of now (two hours after 30% change):

ammonia 1.0
nitrite 0
hardness 120
buffering capacity 180
pH 7.8
nitrate 20

How's that looking? I know that ammonia level is high. Should I do another water change? Another 40%?

(55 gallon, Top Fin 60 power filter, no live plants or rocks)

Slow Cheetah
09-09-2006, 03:44 AM
I'm no expert but I believe your PH is to high. Try to get it down to 7.0

Glasstapper
09-09-2006, 03:51 AM
I'm in the process of another 40% change. I don't know how else to get that ammonia down without chemicals. (I don't want to use too many chemicals). I put some pH decrease a few minutes ago, so about a couple of hours after my water change is done, I'll retest that ammonia and pH.

Unless someone can tell me how to do this better?

NorthernBoy
09-09-2006, 05:26 AM
has your tank had a bacterial bloom yet? (it will get really cloudy then clear the next day or so). I don't like to use the pH down or pH up chemicals. They will ultimately effect some other balance in the tank. What is the pH of the water out of the tap?

Glasstapper
09-09-2006, 06:23 AM
The pH out of the tap is about an 8.0 which is probably way too high for my guys.

Maybe I should try to just keep fish that like a high pH and moderately hard water instead of me trying to change all of it. I have no idea, though, about any fish that like that high pH. Do you guys know some?

After that massive water change (first a 30%, then another 40% in the same day) my ammonia is still reading a .50. I thought I might have had a bacterial bloom, but after further research, I discovered my water was over oxygenated. I removed the large aerator and now my water is clear. So I guess I haven't had my bacterial bloom yet.

NorthernBoy
09-09-2006, 05:01 PM