PDA

View Full Version : Amazing Arowana

NickFish
01-16-2008, 01:33 AM
I just saw the most amazing arowana ever! And I might even get to take care of it because it is at the petsmart I just got hired at! That's explained better in my blog. --> Link to My Blog (http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/journal.php?do=showjournal&j=102)
It is a really cool blood red color sorta like the one in my avatar picture. Just got in and is about 7" right now. I'd really love to have an arowana if I ever got a tank big enough.
What type of plants do they like and what non-live foods do they like to be fed, if any. Awesome fish, no other like it IMO.

OscarFan
01-16-2008, 01:39 AM
Lucky. I want a job at a petstore. But in a few years I planning on owning one so that should be Fun.

NickFish
01-16-2008, 01:43 AM
It would be really cool to own a petstore because you can decide everything instead of just listening to peoples. I wouldn't do it though because I'm not really good at that business management stuff.

Another question- What would be the minimum tank size for a smaller arowana? Any possible tank mates? Would a large pleco or oscar be ok with them?

Drumachine09
01-16-2008, 01:43 AM
Do you have the scientific name? Its a possibility that it is dyed, but I'm not sure.

OscarFan
01-16-2008, 01:44 AM
Ive heard Of OScars Being good with them And PLecos are fine with Oscars if you have lots of Hiding spots. I think the min would be 90-120 gallons

Fishalicious
01-16-2008, 01:44 AM
WOW!!!!!!!!!!! Fantastic!! Congrats on getting the job! :thumb: :thumb: I am sure there will be many jealous peeps on here :hmm3grin2orange:

OscarFan
01-16-2008, 01:45 AM
WOW!!!!!!!!!!! Fantastic!! Congrats on getting the job! :thumb: :thumb: I am sure there will be many jealous peeps on here :hmm3grin2orange:
Im jealous times a lot.

NickFish
01-16-2008, 01:54 AM
Thanks for the congrats!
It isn't dyed. I believe it is Scleropages legendrei. Also known as super red or chili arowana I think.