PDA

View Full Version : trying to start a planted aquarium - help

karbomb
01-14-2008, 04:07 AM
i have a 10 gallon tank with a few anubias (they are planted in driftwood and doing well), i am planning on getting more plants. (the 10 gallon setup off of http://store.aquaticplantdepot.com/comtanset.html )
i only have gravel as a substrate, my tank is almost three years old and i am wondering if the gravel is sufficient as a substrate. it is verifying is size from 1/8in to 1/4 inch pebbles.
as a student i don't have enough money to buy tanks of co2 and i was wondering if a product like Flurish excel: ( http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?pcatid=4656&Ne=40000&R=9688&Nao=9&N=2004+113221 )
would be a sufficient alternative, or if i even really need co2.
my main concern is the lighting, i have 2 25w aqua life bulbs in my tank on a timer (11 hours of light a day) but the tank seems very dim, i have read up on lighting and some websites say to supply a second light source like sun glo or life glo. i only have room for 2 lights in my tank (about 3 inches long) so if anyone knows how i could set up a second light source please let me know.
any tips or help would be great.
thanks a lot.

digital3
01-14-2008, 05:15 AM
Using normal gravel should be fine as long as you don't have any crushed shells or corals in your gravel. But if you really want to get some good gravel you should try getting a bag of Eco-Complete. That stuff is great!

2-25watt bulbs for your 10 gallon should be fine as well (in fact very fine). However, you may want to look at the sun glo or life glo lights. I believe those fall within the 5000 - 10000k range which is ideal for plant setups. Also, running the lights for 11 hours daily may be a bit much. You might want to cut that down by at least an hour and no less than 8 or else you might run into algae problems.

I've never used it, but I have heard good things about Flourish Excel, especially for small tanks.

digital3