PDA

View Full Version : Feeding Molly Fry

Severus
08-28-2006, 08:17 PM
So today i was in my LFS looking around at all the fish and when i came to the Molly tank i noticed one little Black Molly fry swimming around with the other larger mollies. I thought he might have been the only survivor left so i asked the women if i could have him, she said sure and scooped him out for me then i noticed a few other fry had buried themselves under the rocks. I guess to avoid being eaten. So i asked if i could have the others too and she said sure. So in total i have 5 Black Molly fry. I offered here a couple bucks for them but she wouldnt take it. Soo anyway being as i have no experience with fry of any kind i was wondering what i could do to give them the best chance at life. I crushed up a tropical flake into tiny peices and put it in their tank. Should i go out and buy some liquid fry food or like some Hikari Micro Pellets. Are there any specific tank conditions i should adhere to?? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot!

William
08-28-2006, 10:06 PM
Keep the water clean and perhaps add some salt as that is beneficial for black moillies. You can feed the fry crushed flake.

Severus
08-29-2006, 02:48 AM
Thanks a lot for the input William. Ill put some salt in tomorrow

William
08-29-2006, 03:19 AM
no prob. glad to be able to help.

Severus
08-29-2006, 03:53 AM
You seem very knowlegeable and ill probably have a few questions every now and then, im counting on you. haha

Full3R
08-29-2006, 03:57 AM
i never managed to breed mollies i could breed platties, guppies but never mollies, i really wanna breed ballon mollies but need to find room for them

octony
08-29-2006, 06:13 AM
I used to breed black mollies before I had convicts. Feed small amounts of powder flake about 8 times a day, keep temperature about 78 - 80, add 1 tablespoon of aquarium salt per 5 gallons, and do water changes DAILY (add salt to new water when added).