PDA

View Full Version : Oto Expecting?

besces
01-05-2008, 04:32 AM
I got several otos last week, two survived and seem quite pleased with their surroundings. However, one has developed a distinctive pouch underneath. How do I tell if the fish is glutinous, has bloat, or is going to be laying eggs soon? (Or perhaps that is normal oto anatomy?) I am quite new at this, so I hope it's not a silly question!

"the"Trinity
01-05-2008, 04:52 AM
I got several otos last week, two survived and seem quite pleased with their surroundings. However, one has developed a distinctive pouch underneath. How do I tell if the fish is glutinous, has bloat, or is going to be laying eggs soon? (Or perhaps that is normal oto anatomy?) I am quite new at this, so I hope it's not a silly question!

Just how fat is it? Our otos are always a bit pot bellied, and it's normally said a fat oto is a happy oto. However, if its belly is abnormally bloated, it could be something like dropsy. What do you feed them?

Never a silly question.

SkarloeysMom
01-05-2008, 04:56 AM
No, not a silly question at all. Two out of several...not bad and sounds about normal. When mine where eating well they always got that fat belly look. I think I might be more concerned if they were not looking that way.

Can you get a picture and post it?

besces
01-05-2008, 05:24 AM
Thank you both for your thoughts, they are probably doing just fine. I tried to get a pic, but they are just too quick. The bulge is just enough to be noticeable, perhaps 1mm, and now they both have it, making it highly unlikely to be eggs :) (obvious even to a non-expert!).

spudbuds
01-05-2008, 05:27 AM
We would need a picture to be sure, but if they are acting normal, then I bet it's just a happy well fed oto. Good job!

besces
01-05-2008, 06:11 AM
OK, here they are, some pictures. Clearly (or blurily) I am not a great photographer of fish, but perhaps you can see what I am talking about.

OscarFan
01-05-2008, 06:16 AM