PDA

View Full Version : Absolute Beginner

w1nk5
12-29-2007, 05:56 AM
My girlfriend bought me a used 55Gal tank for xmas.

The tank came with the following:

1. 55 gal tank
2. fluval 402 powerhead
3. skilter 250 skimmer/filter
4. eheim wet/dry 2227 trickle filter
5. 4ft. double flourescent lights x 2
6. CO2 natural plant system
7. seatest salt level guage

I have been doing research for the last few days trying to figure out what to do and how to get this thing started.

I would love to go saltwater with live rock and exotic fish and what not but as far I have read it is super exspensive for something like that. I'm looking at getting this going with the equipment I have now plus maybe another couple hundred bucks.

I think I have decided to go with a freshwater planted aquarium. I'll worry about the type of fish ill have after my plants are healthy and growing with out problems after a month or so.

Anyways I guess I want to know the ideal equipment setup for such an aquarium. Which substrates I should use and what filters with what media; I know the eheim trickle filter uses 2 layers of different media (ie. charcoal is one)

Like the title of this topic implies; I am an absolute beginner.

Please, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

OscarFan
12-29-2007, 05:58 AM
most of that varies on the species of fish

OscarFan
12-29-2007, 05:59 AM
have you decided the type of fish you would want. Community,Cichlid, ETC.....

Lady Hobbs
12-29-2007, 11:17 AM
Saltwater and corals take some know-how and generally not a good start for first time fishkeepers without tons of research. But if this is where your interest lays, then definately go with what you want. Just do lots of reading and don't be afraid to ask the questions.

Hope you enjoy that Christmas present. Sure was a nice one!

NickFish
12-29-2007, 11:39 AM
Ya saltwater really takes some experience but you could do it if really researched everything and spent a little money on it.