PDA

View Full Version : In Wall Aquarium Design

jina@scoastnet.com.au
12-20-2007, 01:43 AM
Hi , I am a complete novice but have decided to build an in wall aquarium that is viewable both sides. Can anyone advise me on tank size limitations and
general maintainance requirements for such a setup, or any general advice specific to in wall tanks.
Jeff

mitcore
12-20-2007, 01:50 AM
howdy and welcome

country_boy454
12-20-2007, 02:08 AM
Hello and welcome to the forum. Unfortunately I don't have an answer to your question.

Futureboy
12-20-2007, 02:15 AM
well i dont have one but i would think it would be the same as a normal tank

general maintinace like water changes
cleaning the filter
cleaning the glass etc

just make sure you have room on at least one side of that tank where you can get in and do the stuff

Welcome to the forum!
Get off to a good start by downloading the free aquarium Ebook in the left hand menu

read up about aquariums needs and make sure you can have time and can do it all before you even start thinking about your own tank

cocoa_pleco
12-20-2007, 02:29 AM
welcome to ac!

what is the width of the tank? Some of those wall tanks are so narrow thats its cruel to fish because they cant turn around

Lady Hobbs
12-20-2007, 02:33 AM
This is where the acrylic tank comes in handy. No worrying about leaking between the walls and a fraction of the weight. You'd have to build the wall out on on side or another or have a way to acess it thru doors somehow for water changes and hiding your equipment.

I'm no builder so can't help you much.

This is unless you are talking about those very narrow ones as cocoa mentioned.

Rue
12-20-2007, 02:51 AM
No size limitations...you can go as big as you like...but as mentioned, your tank needs to big enough for the fish to move around in, and properly supported.

MeganL3985
12-20-2007, 04:33 AM