PDA

View Full Version : Hiya folks, just popping in to say hello!

Guppycal58
09-17-2019, 01:08 PM
Hi there, I've been looking for a place to learn more about the hobby I've been enjoying for 50+ years. Still learning, still making stupid mistakes, still having expensively bad buying spasms but what I have learned over the years has, I hope, given my fish better lives since my first goldfish bowl and one-eyed bargain goldfish. Living in Merseyside, and my Dad working at the PierHead, Patch, my beloved fish was given a burial at sea....(flushed down the loo)....8 years later.
That traumatic loss encouraged me to venture into a pet shop for the first time and start my quest for the perfect fishy home. I came home with a plastic 14 inch by 8 inch tank, 4 tiny Guppies and a spiffy pink lid that had a bare bulb fitted......yes, I shocked myself but the plants and algae loved it!
I now have returned mainly to keeping Guppies and assorted supporting tankmates. Nothing exotic, Cherry and Amano shrimps, Corys and any tiny fish I think will live peacefully along with flashy finned Guppys and their broods. Two large tanks, a 4ft and a 3 ft and 4 nano tanks are about my limit these days. But I still dream of a 5ft by 2ft by 2ft for my growing hoards.......one day I hope.
Anyhoooo, that's my fish history. I look forward to learning about all your fish histories in the future,
Best wishes,
Guppycal58 ;-)

William
09-17-2019, 01:08 PM
Hi and welcome to AC. We are happy to have you here!

RiversGirl
09-17-2019, 01:55 PM
Welcome to the AC! I'd enjoy following a journal of your tanks, if you were inclined to start one up.

gadget228
09-18-2019, 08:46 AM
Welcome to the AC... :22:

Slaphppy7
09-18-2019, 12:40 PM
Welcome to the forum.

SueD
09-18-2019, 01:30 PM
Welcome to this forum. Sounds like you'll have a lot of information, do's and don'ts, to share with others from your long time in the hobby.

Boundava
09-18-2019, 02:38 PM