PDA

View Full Version : Help with my 4-H project please

rrockey
08-11-2006, 12:52 AM
Hello,

I am new to fish and aquariums. I decided to get into fish as a 4-H project.

I bought 2 Dalamation Mollies (a male and a female) 4 days ago. I put them in after setting up the tank, I putting Prime in the water and waiting a week, everything seemed to be OK.
I have a Bio-Wheel filter in a hexagon 5 gallon tank. There are plenty of hiding places f the fish.
Anyway the molly had babies the day after I got her. I think she has 7 or 8. Neither she nor the male bother the babies. This morning I went to go check on them and the female molly was standing on her tail. She looked dead, it didn't look like she was breathing. An hour later I went in and she was swimming around. Now she's doing it again. She's in the exact same spot too. I only have one tank, and I'm not sure what to do, PLEASE HELP.
Was she in shock because she's a new mother? Does she have a problem because the water's too cold or warm? Or was it something else? Sometimes she'll also go and lie on the bottom. I had a water test and they said it looks fine.
I thought maybe there was not enough oxygen in my tank, so last night I added an air hose. The water also seemed hot so I turned off the light. I do no have a thermometer.
Also, my male fish will sit in what I was told was the "current" of the filter (not JUST the filter current) and rock back and forth like he has shimmy. Should I get some shimmy medicine? Will that hurt him, the female (who does NOT rock back and forth much), or even the babies? My male also hides, is that normal?
Both my fish are very aggressive at feeding time, and my male does nip at the female occasonally, and the babies are becoming more aggresive when I feed them.
I didn't TRY to get babies it just happended. Should I get something for them, like breeding grass, or should I just leave them?