PDA

View Full Version : Hair algae Update



gm72
12-07-2007, 02:52 PM
Okay, just got my phosphate test kit. Phosphates are .25. I have stopped fertilizing, maybe about a week ago, but the hair algae still looks like it is growing. I will be removing as much of it as I possibly can. Once I have removed as much as possible, should I resume fertilizing? Not sure where to go from here.

gm72
12-09-2007, 07:51 PM
Oh, come on, surely someone has something to say on this? Pleeeeeease? :22:

Dave66
12-09-2007, 10:06 PM
Were you dosing phosphate in your tank, GM? No need, as the plants will get all they need from the fish. You'll just have to jerk out the algae until all the nutrients are too low to sustain it. Phosphate in nature is .01-.02. More than that, and algae can get a toehold.

Dave

gm72
12-09-2007, 11:50 PM
Thanks, Dave. Yes, I was dosing Phosphate. All fertilization has ceased since the problem started. Do you think I should go ahead and restart ferts without the phosphate?

Dave66
12-09-2007, 11:56 PM
What brand, kind of ferts are you using? I just use Florish myself. Substrate and fish supply everything else.
You can restart sans phosphate if you want to.

Dave

gm72
12-10-2007, 12:35 AM
Seachem line all the way. Eco-complete substrate. No CO2. Yet!

Dave66
12-10-2007, 12:43 AM
Are you using Excel for your carbon source?
Saw a full auto presserized Co2 system complete with bottle for $379 the other day. Its an Amano product.
Spent nearly that much for my regulators with solinoids years ago, which is why that price really ticked me off.
Your substrate is good enough you can back off on the ferts, and quit potassium if you're dosing it. I do half-doses of Florish in my tanks.

Dave

gm72
12-10-2007, 08:55 PM
I want to move to a pressurized CO2 system in the not-too-distant future, until then will follow your advice. Thanks again!