PDA

View Full Version : Making my shopping list, need advice

Jambot
12-02-2007, 10:16 PM
Come Christmas time I will have the sand, driftwood, and lighting I want to convert my 20 gallon long to a planted tank. I will have approximately 2.7 watts/gallon (three 18 watt bulbs).

Since this is my first time with real plants I've been looking at plants on websites that have a easy to medium difficulty level in terms of maintaining them. I have compiled a list of 5 plants that I think look rather nice and are considered "easy" to maintain on most websites. They are:

Ceratophyllum demersum (Hornwort)
Rotala indica
Hygrophila difformis (Water Wisteria)
Microsorium pteropus v. "Windelov" (Java Fern - Lace)
Vesicularia dubyana (Java Moss)

I was wondering if anyone who has these plants or had them in the past could give me your opinions on these, or if you think I should substitute one kind for another. Will these plants take up too much room for my tank or will I need more? Also, I ordered a 20 pound bag of sand (Black Tahitian Moon Sand) for my 20 gallon long (I'm going to need more than 20 pounds, aren't I?).

Sorry if it's a lot of questions, I'm just really excited and don't want to screw this up!

Thanks!

markbob
12-02-2007, 11:23 PM
20lbs should be okay, a loose rule of thumb is 1lb per gallon of substrate for minimum. I'm not entirely familiar with those plants, but make sure that you have a good variety of height too, ie. short, med and tall to establish a foreground, midground and background.

kkevvy
12-03-2007, 02:58 PM
Hornwort grows like crazy, but make is awesome when you prune it. You can make a really cool background by taking all the cuttings and replanting them. You need to cut it often as it will quickly overshadow the tank.

msjinkzd
12-03-2007, 03:21 PM