View Full Version : What is happening

NoelFae
04-30-2017, 02:07 PM
So I'm a noob fish owner and plant owner and panic about everything
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170430/45e7913c8ae6ae6d290a59ba7f6f8ce1.jpg

What is this radioactive plant doing lmao

madagascariensis
04-30-2017, 02:31 PM
That's blue-green algae, which is not actually an alga but rather a photosynthetic bacterium. They tend to bloom in waters with high organic content, and some species may produce environmental toxins harmful to animals.
I'd remove as much as I can with the siphon/gravel vac, and increase the frequency and size of water changes.

NoelFae
04-30-2017, 03:26 PM
That's blue-green algae, which is not actually an alga but rather a photosynthetic bacterium. They tend to bloom in waters with high organic content, and some species may produce environmental toxins harmful to animals.
I'd remove as much as I can with the siphon/gravel vac, and increase the frequency and size of water changes.

Would high organic content be because I have too many plants?

Slaphppy7
04-30-2017, 03:39 PM
No...could be from overfeeding, though

AmazonJoe
04-30-2017, 03:53 PM
madagascariensis got the nail on the head to much organics it could come from food and yes also from dead plant material but just siphon it off the plants and do water changes and this will help a ton

NoelFae
04-30-2017, 04:19 PM
Okay. I did a 50% water change and scrubbed all my deco with hot water and a brand new toothbrush. Ran my plants under water to get all the mulm off and removed the radioactive leaf [emoji261]

AmazonJoe
04-30-2017, 04:21 PM
Next time no need to remove the plants if you run the siphon hose over the leaves the blue-green algae should come right off.

NoelFae
04-30-2017, 04:26 PM
Next time no need to remove the plants if you run the siphon hose over the leaves the blue-green algae should come right off.