PDA

View Full Version : gh & kh

Slaphppy7
01-01-2017, 06:09 PM
I recently purchased the gh & kh kit from API, and have a few questions about testing tap:

Does the water need to stand or gas off before testing?
Should I test cold tap water, warm tap water?

I haven't read the directions yet, are they pretty straightforward?...

When testing the tanks' water, should I wait until the day before a WC or does it matter when I test it?

Rocksor
01-01-2017, 06:21 PM
You can test right away out of the tap. You can test the tank before a water change. The only time KH will be much lower than tap is due to not enough water changes. A 25% water change weekly will not change KH or GH in your tank. People with hard water generally have a KH way above 4 out of the tap.

Silbar
01-01-2017, 06:24 PM
I'm no expert, so take my thoughts with a grain of salt.
I wouldn't think that you tap water softness/hardness would change whether the water is cold or warm or if it stood at room temp for a bit. As far as the tank water, I would first test it before a water change to see what it's baseline is. Then you can recheck, if you want, the next day to compare the two. The instructions are very straight forward, it's just counting the number of drops for a change in color (for both tests).

In my small tanks where the pH was dropping, I tested the gh/kh first. Then I started to add Equilibrium to bring the levels to a more stable level. Once I did this a few times after WCs I haven't had to add the Equilibrium very often

Silbar
01-01-2017, 06:25 PM
Rocksor beat me to it. I take too long to type and think.

Slaphppy7
01-01-2017, 06:30 PM
Thanks Sil and Rock.

So, looking at the conversion chart on the instructions, the first range is 0-3. with a small circle next to each digit...is this the amount of drops?

The instructions say to invert the tube after each drop, but then states to watch for a color change after the test tube is shaken (?)...should I invert or shake between each drop?