PDA

View Full Version : Plant ferts and shrimp

kurly
11-27-2007, 12:53 AM
I know very little about red cherry shrimp because I am very new to them. I have a lightly planted tank with fish and red cherry shrimp. It is time for me to put a few fertilizer tablets in the substrate for my plants. Will the fertilizer tablets do any harm to my red cherry shrimps?

msjinkzd
11-27-2007, 01:14 AM
I would look at their ingredients...alot of the fert tabs have heavy metals which in concentrated dosages (after a duration of use) can negatively effect or kill your shrimp. I know of people who have used "plantzone" line of products and had no ill effects. What is your tank maintenance schedule? I would imagine if you were super diligent with water changes (to dilute the amount leeched into the water column) it may be doable.

shultz
11-27-2007, 02:21 AM
What kind of plants? The reason I ask is I have Rotala, Amazon sword, Money wort, wisteria, two other plants that I can't remember what the heck they are called and TON's of java moss in my tank and dose NO fert's. The tank has been up and planted for about 8 months now and all seem to be doing fine and growing well... they may grow BETTER with fert's and CO2 BUT they are growing none the less. Everything I've read about dosing ferts and keeping shrimp has been a mix of OK and BAD(mostly BAD)... even though I picked some plants that most say NEED ferts I figured before I dosed fert's I just buy different plants that were better suited to the water conditions... so far I've not had to do that. In short, I'd say DO NOT dose fert's in you're shrimp tank.

John

kurly
11-27-2007, 04:16 AM