PDA

View Full Version : all my fish dying

stickersteve
01-13-2016, 03:21 PM
I am kind of new to saltwater tanks. I had one many years ago and just got a 29 gallon nano tank a few months ago. I had a local salt water company here in tucson set it up for me. Everything was fine for the first couple months, then all of a sudden, any fish that was in there started dying. First my beautiful powder blue tang, then my clowns and jawfish. The one fish that survived, my yellow angel, finally died a couple days ago. I thought that fish would last through anything. Towards the end he started to develope what looked like bruises before he died. All of my water paramaters check out normal through my own testing and testing at the fish store. The one issue we though was that my water temperature was to cold. I was not paying attention to that. By the time I got a digital thermometer the temp was 71 degrees. I take the blame for that. I know have a heater in and got the tank to around 77 before I put any more fish in. I put a couple clowns in and they lasted two days before they both died. I have been doing monthly water changes, not using RO water but my house filtered/softened water, which I was told was ok, and it was for a while. So now I dont know what to try. I ordered a water conditioner so when I do my next water change in a couple days I will use that to see if it removes anything that might be in my water. The guy at the fish store does not know what else it could be right now. My coral, snails, shrimp are all doing fine.

Steve

AmazonJoe
01-13-2016, 03:26 PM
What type of filtration and how did you cycle?

Also take a few pics of the tank so we can see the layout and what not. But all in all very perplexing.

Not a expert with saltwater by any means hope fully someone else who has more exp will chime in.

iReef
01-13-2016, 04:17 PM