PDA

View Full Version : Which moss to choose?

WhistlingBadger
11-12-2015, 07:10 PM
Hi, all. I have a 55g Walstad-style tank I'm about to set up--soil-under-sand substrate, moderate current, very heavily planted, moderate to highish light. Should have a decent amount of CO2, but not a lot in the way of nutrients in the water.

I would really like to try my hand at moss again, to attach to some driftwood and my backdrop. But I'm new to mosses, and I'm a bit stumped what to pick. A little natural spreading would be nice, but I don't need it to take over the tank. I am going for a ruins-reclaimed-by-the-jungle look. I like the lush, fern-like greenery, and I hear mosses make good spots for shrimp to hang out.

The pet store can get the following kinds for me:
Flame
Java
Anchor
Christmas
Willow
Taiwan

To be honest, the all sort of look about the same to me. Any ideas or suggestions? Any that I should avoid? I'd kind of like to get a couple different kinds and see what works.

Thanks, as always! Tom

Boundava
11-12-2015, 08:02 PM
From my experience the java and xmas get out of hand very quickly once established. They go everywhere. I also have flame moss and it has been growing very well on the cholla wood I tied it to, and only that wood. I would vote flame moss.

SueD
11-13-2015, 01:21 AM
I have Christmas moss and I like it a lot. It does grow very fast though, so will need some trimming every couple of months. I just got a $25 credit at my LFS for the excess moss I brought them.

WhistlingBadger
11-13-2015, 02:42 AM
To, flame moss is good; Christmas moss is good but keep an eye on it so it doesn't take over. That might not be a bad thing--I'm the only person I know who managed to kill Java moss! ha ha ha

Any other pointers?

Boundava
11-13-2015, 04:59 AM