PDA

View Full Version : Hello Everyone

JamesT
09-24-2015, 02:02 PM
I'm totally new at fish keeping, and hoping to call upon some seasoned Aquarists for some much needed guidance. I have 2 kids who are very excited, a 6 and 8 year old. We have spent much time lately visiting the local pet stores admiring the different types of fish. The kids want Nemo, but Dad's not ready for that yet so I will be going with a fresh water aquarium. I'm looking at a 75 gallon tank stocked with typical beginner fish, tetra's, gouramies, a few angel's, etc. I am also considering building the stand for the tank. I have plenty of room for the aquarium, and like the idea of a deeper tank for placement of living plants and decorations, and to provide the fish with more room. I've done some reading about getting started and have a basic understanding, but there is soooo much more I need to know. Thats why I've joined your community.

First question that comes to mind is filtration, or more so the curent caused by the FX6 by Fluval. Staff at the Pet store say it will be fine on a 75 gallon tank, but I'm not so sure.
Is it too powerful for a tank of this size. 925 gal/hr, and suitable for a 400 gal tank. I read some where the tank should cycle 3-6 times and hour, this is like 12 times. This unit is well reviewed, and has some great features and those that have it seem to love it. Thoughts, suggestions, recomendations most welcomed. I have not bought anything yet, but am itching to get started. Thanks

William
09-24-2015, 02:03 PM
Hi and welcome to AC. We are happy to have you here!

Slaphppy7
09-24-2015, 02:07 PM
Welcome to the AC, great folks and info here :22:

You'll do better with your questions if you begin a new thread in the journals or beginner's section.

Boundava
09-24-2015, 03:06 PM
Welcome, I know you will learn a lot here.