PDA

View Full Version : Olaf the pleco

Argentis
04-08-2015, 11:55 PM
Hey everyone! I recently stocked my 20G tank that has been cycling and I added the most adorable, teeny tiny Pleco that I have named Olaf.
My hubby wanted one of 'the cool sucker fish' fish, and If it was up to him the entire tank would be stocked with plecos (which I said no to, sorry!)

Either way, our LFS has this little thing classified as a "Sm. captive bred bristle nose". I'm no expert on plecos, so I went with it, could anyone ID this litre one? It's about an inch long and is a very good cleaner fish, loves my driftwood (and the pirate ship..)

Olaf photo! (http://flic.kr/p/s2qHPS) (Ignore his twin brother Falo, he's crazy! ;) )

Anders247
04-09-2015, 03:35 PM
I don't see a picture. If it is a bristlenose, then it's fine in there.

Boundava
04-09-2015, 03:58 PM
Olaf is very cute (click on "Olaf photo" its a link). It looks to be a BN, but has a bit to grow before you can tell if its a boy or girl. Girls won't get the bristles that are their namesake (well if they do then they are stubby and few). Love the reference to his "crazy" brother, nice reflection...lol. Plecos have a big impact on water quality (kind of like goldfish) so need a very good filtration. You may need to increase it as he grows, depending on what you have now.

Congrats on Olaf! can't wait to watch him/her grow.

Anders247
04-09-2015, 04:07 PM
Oh, OK, thanks Boundava! Yeah, that's a BN.

Argentis
04-09-2015, 08:33 PM
Yay! Phew! I was worried that Olaf would end up being a "common pleco" .... Not in the market for a monster tank just yet!

I'll keep an eye for bristles, I'd feel bad for naming Olaf if he's a she.

Slaphppy7
04-09-2015, 08:38 PM
There's always 'Olafia'.....

Anders247
04-09-2015, 08:43 PM
Lol, the most common female Scandinavian name is Lena. So if it's a female, then Lena, if it's a male, Olaf.

Boundava
04-09-2015, 08:55 PM