PDA

View Full Version : Having a most frustrating experience with Angelfish

McG
02-07-2015, 09:41 PM
I have three tanks now, a 30 gallon sick tank (which used to be my starter aquarium) and two larger ones, a 50 g and a newer 44 pentagon. I decided to just keep Angelfish and took the others I kept for a while to the local private aquarium shop. Everywhere people say that Angelfish are easy to keep and make a good beginner fish. I am not really a beginner but I never kept Angelfish before.

I baby all my tanks and the water readings all come out fine. I have had all these fish for several weeks now and everything was going great. Then..

First, the 30g... One of the Angels started to hang out at the top a lot, and I noticed he had a reddish streak going along his dorsal fin. I took a pic of him and took it to the aquarium shop. They recommended Pimafix, which I administered immediately, and the red on the fish seemed to start going away. They were all eating fine, but a couple of days later, another Angel was dead, and he didn't even look sick. After him the first who had a red streak stopped eating and died. I took water readings again and they were normal. I still had another Angel in the tank who is black and started having clumped fins and whitish on his body. I went to the pet store again and this time got a tablet treatment called "All in 1 Remedy" which claimed to treat a variety of illnesses without having to guess which one the fish had. After treating the tank for a few days (carbon removed from the filter as they said to do on the meds), the black Angel's fins appear to be back to normal, though the whitish stuff is still on him and the tail rot is still visible, which I suppose will take time to recover. He is eating well and no longer hides.