PDA

View Full Version : Finnally - Somethin Tropical - Crayfish

PaulV
01-19-2005, 07:46 AM
Hello to all. Thought I would drop in and say hello.

I have been breeding and experimenting with crayfish for 8 years or more so thought perhaps I may be able to help those of your with crayfish questions...

cheers
Paul V

William
01-22-2005, 02:34 PM
welcome Paul

Anonymous
01-22-2005, 10:10 PM
Thank you William

Anonymous
01-23-2005, 10:48 PM
I had a question. I bought a crayfish for my tank several weeks ago. It seemed to be doing fine it even molted once. It was very active then I started to notice that it was becoming more and more sedated. I thought that perhaps it was getting ready to molt again but instead it died. Does any one have a clue why

PaulV
01-26-2005, 09:39 PM
ledesmas,

Depends on your system. To me it sounds like you had very little do2 (oxygen) in the water. Again depending on the species, most have a high tolerance to low disolved oxygen and usually one aerator will do the trick. Do you know what breed it was? If you dont you could describe it and I will have a go at "guessing" its species.

Crayfish have a tendancy to want to get out of the water and sit on a log or rock or what ever they can. They just stick their head out and keep their gills moist.

Most folks that keep crayfish, keep them in a full tank where there is no option of the crayfish to get to the surface of the water. In this case they HAVE to have plenty of air circulating in the water, especially with some of the new tanks like the Aqua One series...