PDA

View Full Version : A Rockstar has landed!

Isivaa Sanaru
05-22-2013, 04:51 PM
Okay,

That was just to get your attention. Although I AM a musician I'm certainly not on that level yet...

My name is Isivaa Sanaru (Isi) and I'm enjoying my Aquarium with 2 Ocadia Sinensis (or Chinese Stripe-Necked Turtles) and about 50-60 Neon Tetras very much right now. I could always use some advice though, since I'm just starting out. I have like a 40 gallon tank or something filled HALF with water and partly land area for my turtles to dry and bask. I have a filter and a pump (all-in-one), no idea which brand, but my tank looks nice and clean so far and I was told it was big enough lol. I also have like 10 live plants (about 4 different species) in there along with some gravel.

I live in Taipei, Taiwan - sadly they don't really care about anything that isn't human (they barely care about humans either) and they don't have the best reputation when it comes to treating animals. It IS improving, but it's still far from Europe's or America's standards (I guess). With that said, I really like animals and have done so for my whole life.

My main issues are though these:
1) What do I (if anything) lack for my tank to keep my Neon Tetras alive and happy? They aren't JUST feeder fish... My turtles can't even catch them. What temperature do they require? I currently have like 30 degrees (85 Fahrenheit) in the water, which I believe is a bit hot. But so far I haven't found a decent way of cooling it down. Any advice here?
2) As I have plenty of plants and gravel, do I need to feed my Neon Tetras or will they find food on their own? If yes, what type of food should I get them? Preferably something that isn't poisonous to my turtles.
3) Do I GOT to get a CO2 Source now or can that wait?

All advice and replies are much appreciated! Looking forward to learn a lot from my time spent on this forum! Thanks!

Triton
05-22-2013, 05:09 PM
Welcome to the forum, here is my take.