PDA

View Full Version : Did Petco lie to me?

NinjaBoo
05-08-2013, 04:38 PM
Hello all! I'm an aquarium noob. I just recently set up my first 10 gallon about a month ago. Things are going really well! However, the more I read, the more I think I have a bristlenose problem. When I picked out my fish, I wanted a "sucker fish" that would stay really small. I checked out the max sizes on the cards at Petco, and I found a little albino one that supposedly only gets 1.5 inches. Everything I see online though, leads me to believe it's an albino bristlenose. Is there a species that stays this small, or do I need to find a new home for the little fellow? It was called a dwarf bristlenose on the card, and it was under $5.00.

Sandz
05-08-2013, 04:44 PM
Dwarf BN and the rubber lips get around 4in. They sell those and common pleco's. After the tank is established and running well, you may look to add some otocinclus if you are set on the fish.

Pray tell... why do you want a "sucker fish" for a 10gal?

Stlouisfish
05-08-2013, 04:56 PM
Lemme guess - a sucker fish is to "clean" the tank right?

NinjaBoo
05-08-2013, 05:10 PM
I did originally want one for that purpose, yes. Now I know they don't really do that and probably poop more than they clean. I like the fish, though. I enjoy watching it. I am trying to take proper care of it. I have been placing algae wafers in the tank for it. I am going today to get a small piece of driftwood for it, since I read they require that. So, if it's going to get about four inches, do you think I should find another home for it? My tank is currently 15% overstocked, anyway, but I'm very meticulous about scheduled water changes.

Triton
05-08-2013, 05:15 PM
Yes, you should find it another home, usually I wouldn't recommend a BN in any tank smaller than a 20g. So, for now find someone that will take it (or buy it) and wait till you get a larger tank

NinjaBoo
05-08-2013, 05:21 PM
Thank you so much! :)

talldutchie
05-08-2013, 07:13 PM