PDA

View Full Version : prepping for Betta

Longshot
03-29-2013, 10:29 PM
I told my stepson that I would build him an aquarium and buy him a Betta , he was very excited. So, I built a 5 1/2 gallon tank and today I bought him a Tetra HT10 50w heater, an Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 filter and some decorations. I just set it up and we are prepping it for his new fish buddy. Sorry that the picture is poor quality but I have lousy lighting and I am a lousy photographer also. The water is full of bubbles, etc because I just filled it up. My stepson is at his aunts right now and doesn't know that I bought this stuff for him yet, I can't wait to see his face when he sees what we did for him. We looked at Bettas today over at the pet store but they didn't have any fish that looked worth buying. He decided yesterday that he wants a crown instead of the run of the mill splendens. The hunt will be on for a quality fish and we will let him choose his fish when the time comes. I am almost as excited for him as he is going to be, can't wait. He is learning all the names of the fish in my aquarium with enthusiasm and it spurred him to want a tank for himself- so , I guess we will get him started early, lol.

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d119/longshot1068/DSCN10451.jpg

madagascariensis
03-29-2013, 11:28 PM
That is a nice gift you are setting up for him. Who knows, maybe it's going to " pass the torch" and keep this hobby alive...

I Assume you have appropriately cycled or transferred media?

Longshot
03-30-2013, 12:01 AM
this is why I said when the time is right, I just set it up and got everything running. It still has to cycle but I have it all running in anticipation. He will just have to wait if he wants to do it all the right way. ;)

fishmommie
03-30-2013, 12:02 AM
What a sweet thing to do. I'm sure he'll be excited to pick out his own betta.
I recently bought a crowntail. LOVE him. I went for the smallest one I could find hoping that meant he was among the younger ones.