PDA

View Full Version : help with cycling

ekap
03-20-2013, 03:50 PM
hey everyone, im new to aquariums. i bought a 10 gal tank with a 20 gal powered fliter and an air strip for bubbles. And also some gravel. i have 3 live plants in the tank and some rocks i think there shale? i had 3 little neon yellow barbs. as starter fish.i bought the PH tester and ammonia tester from what the salesman said at the fish store. i starting reading after i had the fish in the new tank already. i didnt realize i would be harming the fish. i did 50% water changes daily for about a week but i couldnt get the ammonia to come down. one morning i woke up one of the 3 fish were swimming kinda on its side. I couldnt take it anymore lol. so i bought the fish back to the pet store. now i am trying to do a fishless cycle with ammonia. 2 days ago i put ammonia in the water to the levels were at 4ppm. 2 days later the ammonia is still at the same level.

Shouldnt the levels have gone down already? Am i doing this right please help

mommy1
03-20-2013, 08:48 PM
The ammonia level is a bit high for a 10 gallon, you might want to do a 50-75% water change and bring it down to 1-2ppm, don't forget to dechlorinate the new water before it's added to the tank, then wait. 2 days is not enough time for much to happen, give it at least a week. Remember, don't add any more ammonia until it reads 0ppm. You will also need tests for nitrite and nitrate to determine when the cycle is complete.

fishmommie
03-20-2013, 09:01 PM
++ to Mommy1