PDA

View Full Version : Plant classification

Greentoads41
01-10-2013, 12:21 AM
What plant is this? I previously believed it to be amazon sword, but it has a definite rhizome. Now I think it might be a big anubias nana or lanceolata. It's taken this plant over 2 years to get this big. One pic is of the plant from ways away and the other is what i believe to be the rhizome. I wouldn't have put it in the foreground if I had known it would get so big lol.

funkman262
01-10-2013, 12:27 AM
Looks like an anubias sp. to me as well, not sure which one though.

Greentoads41
01-10-2013, 12:37 AM
Thanks! What makes you think so?

funkman262
01-10-2013, 01:05 AM
Just looking at the rhizome formation and shapes of leaves. I have some experience with anubias and that one seems to growing in the same pattern that mine would.

Greentoads41
01-10-2013, 01:46 AM
That's helpful. Dare i ask if you have any tips in propagating it?:questionmarks:

funkman262
01-10-2013, 02:19 AM
I would just use a sharp razor-blade and cut the rhizome to split the plant. If you don't like it in the front, just remove the entire plant, slice it into two or more pieces, and place them in more aesthetically pleasing locations.

Greentoads41
01-10-2013, 03:03 AM
I think I'll do that. It has actually never been taken out of its pot. Thanks!

Lady Hobbs
01-10-2013, 03:30 AM
I am not seeing anything that looks like a rhizome. I am seeing roots.

A rhizome sprouts roots all up and down the stem, not all coming out of the bottom of the plant like you have.

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=127829

funkman262
01-10-2013, 03:50 AM

A rhizome sprouts roots all up and down the stem, not all coming out of the bottom of the plant like you have.

I clearly see a rhizome in the second pic, and the roots are sprouting throughout the length of the rhizome.

Greentoads41
01-10-2013, 03:56 AM