PDA

View Full Version : Looking for suggestions

themusician
10-13-2007, 04:32 AM
This is my 20 gallon tank as it appeared a few days ago (I can get another picture tomorrow, but my lights have been off most of the day to acclimate my newest fish).

It's my first attempt at a planted tank, but I'm not happy with it. It was great at first, but once I got light and fertilizer in it, the plants grew in ways I wasn't expecting, and now I'm not sure I like the placement of any of them, except for the java fern. The crypt got huge while the anubias didn't grow and now the middle is all out of whack. The sword in the back is really happy, but all of the new leaves are large with short stems instead of small with long stems, and I don't know if it will fill the corner quite like I envisioned.

Anyway, I would like everything to move and for it to be MUCH more heavily planted. Any suggestions of where to move things and what other plants to get would be extremely welcome.

Here are the specs:
20g high tank
65w coralife fixture
Hagen Natural CO2 system
Flourite and black gravel mixed
Aquaclear 50 filter
Will be stocked with platies, lemon tetras, cory cats, and amano shrimp

Current plants (all guesses as they were "assorted" from Petsmart): anubias angustifolia 'Afzelli' (narrow-leaved anubias), cryptocoryne balansae, java fern, and some type of sword that I still can't identify.

Rue
10-13-2007, 02:56 PM
It looks fine as it is...and those plants still have a lot of growing to do...but if you really want to make a change, I think you have a group of plants that all essentially look the same...

I would group them closer together near the back or to one side...and then get a short round-leaved plant for the front to provide contrast...

squirt_12
10-13-2007, 03:47 PM
just a little heads up...the amano shrimp may nibble on your plants. But they will also nibble on the algae in them to keep them clean so there are pros. and cons.

Incredulous_Ed
10-13-2007, 04:26 PM