PDA

View Full Version : Different Beginner Questions

Felisha
06-27-2006, 05:18 AM
Hi there! Im a beginner and new to this site. It seems pretty cool and informative. It's really nice that if someone can't help you, they won't leave you hanging, they'll direct you to a site that can. Most people won't even go that far. Anyways, after reading several pages of postings, I decided to post this since I couldn't find any info elsewhere... I have a 20 gallon freshwater tank with 4 dalmation lyretail mollies (3 females and a male), 1 betta, 1 catfish thing and 3 brown colored algae eaters. The catfish and the algae eaters were a gift, so I don't know the name of them, but if you look at my album labeled 'my little fishes' you can see them. If you know what they are, please tell me. Also are they easy to breed? I don't want to but was just curious. My questions:
1. The mollies and betta love to dive to the top (but not surface level) and then dive to the bottom of one corner of the tank repeatedly several times during the day. Is this normal behavior? It really looks like they are playing. They never go sideways and it's always in the back corner. They're are no diseases that I can tell, and there's never any harm. No one gets hurt. Water levels are fine.....
2. What is the difference between aquarium salt and marine salt. Is one saltier than the other?
3. The clear gooey stuff snails leave behind on their trail, is this normal? Will it get eaten up by the catfish or will it go away on it's own? I was thinking of getting a snail, but don't like the gooey stuff.
4. I add aquarium salt to my tank at every water change, do you think if I get ghost shrimps, they'll be okay?

I want to thank you in advance for any replies you may have. This may seem like a lot, but I took advice from William in another post that said basically it's better to ask questions if you don't know something. Which is what I'm trying to do :D . Again, Thanx.......felisha

William
06-27-2006, 05:48 PM