PDA

View Full Version : First mollies...already sick?

themusician
10-06-2007, 03:03 PM
Yesterday afternoon I went to PetSmart and bought four sunburst platies and four black mollies to go in my already cycled 20 gallon tank. They are the only fish in there so far. Today I'm noticing that one of my black mollies appears to be gasping (mouth opening and closing a lot and gills moving really fast?), has white spots on its side, and has a silverish/whitish looking thing at the bottom of its eye. My first thought, of course, was ich, but then I came across something called black molly disease which also causes white spots.

How would I tell the difference between ich and black molly disease?

I'm pretty new to fish, but other than the mouth and gill movement my molly doesn't act distressed. It swims around just like the rest of them. I almost wonder if the white marks are natural coloration, from a long ago breeding with a dalmation molly or something. If it weren't for the apparent gasping, I'd be more inclined to wait another day or two to see what happens, but I do think something is wrong. Any ideas?

themusician
10-06-2007, 03:06 PM
Actually, I think I may have lied about the molly acting normally. It's hard to tell for sure, but it almost seems like the other three mollies are hanging out together and leaving the other one alone. Or the one is avoiding the other three. I'm not sure which.

gm72
10-06-2007, 03:08 PM
Something is wrong, but not at all uncommon to get a sick fish. I would raise the temperature of the tank. You already added salt, I think I remember?

themusician
10-06-2007, 03:15 PM
Actually I didn't, because I want to eventually get cories. Should I add the salt and deal with the cories later?

gem
10-06-2007, 03:25 PM