PDA

View Full Version : Discus issues

justinsoffa
11-20-2012, 11:29 AM
I have four discus in a 65 gallon tank along with a ret. stingray, clown loach, and black ghost knife. The fish all get along with eachother from species to species, but my discus fight all the time. I feed them 2-3 times a day, once or twice with live black worms, hikari discus pellets, or freeze dried tubifex worms. I cannot get them to eat the frozen brine or bloodworms. Three of the discus are 3-4" and one is around 5" so they are quite young. Naturally the 5" is the boss. Is there anything I can do to get them to stop fighting? They chase the newest one in the corner all the time and bite at it whenever it tries to eat. Please help!

Crispy
11-20-2012, 11:34 AM
I'm no discus expert, but seems to me the issue may be not enough space. thats a TON of bioload for a 65g (and much too small for a ray). perhaps the discus experts will chime in soon...:11:

justinsoffa
11-20-2012, 11:41 AM
All of the fish are quite small, the stingray is a pup, once he gets larger he will be moved. I read that discus require around 9 gallons/fish as adults, and that I could house 6 discus. The black ghost knife is 4" at best and the clown is 2-3" it is a fairly young tank.

Cermet
11-20-2012, 12:57 PM
The rule is 10 gals per fish and that is as small as one should go for adults - your young fish are fine in a 65 gal.

Having other species is asking for fighting between discus due to stress but worse, is having under six discus. You are doomed with four discus fighting - that is their nature and why people are always told to raise six or more. Other fish just add to the stress - especially large fish.